Ask Joe   
Mt. SAC Emergency Alert

Alert: Mt. SAC has Transitioned to Online Classes and Services (see Learn more about our COVID-19 response at

Trustee Meeting Recognitions

Board of trustee meeting

May 14, 2019 - 03:04 PM

The Board of Trustees awarded Certificates of Service to the following retiring faculty, whose combined years of service total 228 years:
• Genene Arvidson Perkins, Professor, Nursing (Nursing), 30 years of service
• Thomas Edson, Professor, Art History (English, Literature, Journalism), 17 years of service
• Paul Frahs, Professor, English (English, Literature, Journalism), 14 years of service
• LeAnn Garrett, Librarian (Library and Learning Resources), 17 years of service
• Evelyn Hill-Enriquez, Professor, American Language (American Language), 28 years of service
• Charles McGruder, Professor, Philosophy (Sociology, Philosophy), 27 years of service
• Sherry Schmidt, Professor, Biological Sciences (Biological Sciences), 34 years of service
• Nona Stokes, Professor, American Language (American Language), 28 years of service
• Bob Stuard, Professor, Sign Language (Sign Language, Interpreting), 33 years of service

The Mt. SAC Forensics Team, led by Professors Roger Willis-Raymondo, Thuy Pham, and Jasmine McLeod captured the State Championship for the first time in over 20 years. The team won 26 awards, including eight gold medals and five state championships in a variety of speech and debate events. Congratulations to team members Mohamad Almouazzen, Janay Bombino, Lizeth Chimal, Jessica Croysdill, Valeria Cervantes, Caitlyn Carr, Cindy Gutierrez, Roque Hidalgo, Mikayla Holzinger, Allan Santa Isabel, Grace Kim, “Joy” Tzu Yu Lin, Gregory Nunez, Alejandro Perez, Osirus Polachart, Edwin Ramirez, Eisa Razzak, Shanae Wong, and Ty Wright!

The Mt. SAC Health Occupations Students of America, led by Professors Jill McGraw and Mary-Ellen Reyes, captured 19 medals (12 gold, six silver, and one bronze) at the State Leadership Conference. The team competed against 3,900 competitors who competed in 56 different health related events. Congratulations to team members Jonathon Alcantara, Shannon Almeida, Justin Appiah, Rima Booth Arabah Korsah-Enninful, Andrea Hernandez, Ana Reinis, and Yanire Ton!

Congratulations to Jason Harary of the Mt. SAC Men’s Swim Team, who was named the National Two-Year College Scholar Athlete of the Year! Jason is a nine-time All-American defending state champion in the 400 Individual Medley and the 2019 South Coast Conference Swimmer of the Year. A model student-athlete, he is a Business Major with a solid 3.82 GPA. The Men’s Swim Team is led by Coach Marc Ruh. Jason will be recognized at the National Alliance of Two-Year College Athletic Administrators (NATYCAA) Awards Luncheon in Orlando in June, during the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention.

Congratulations to Student Trustee Gabriel Alfaro for his year of service to the students of Mt. SAC by serving as their representative on the Board of Trustees.

View Board Meeting pictures here.