Journalism Students Win 22 Awards at State Convention

By Mike Taylor

June 27, 2017 - 01:37 PM

Mt. SAC journalism students won a total of 22 awards recently at the Journalism Association of Community Colleges state convention in Sacramento.

Individually, students Talin Hakopyan, Christopher Rosato, Brigette Lugo, and Angelica Cruz won best editor recognition awards. Pablo Unzueta won first place for best photo essay, and Lugo won first for best feature profile.

Melody Waintal won second place for best critical review, and Unzueta took second for best features series, while Hakopyan won second place for best features series. Daniel Venegas won third place for best opinion story, Rosato took third for best sports story, and Hakopyan took third for best magazine opinion story.

Evan Velaquez, Monica Pignotti, and Lugo had fourth-place awards for best video story, and Kenya Pineda took fourth for best social media story. Honorable mention awards went to Giovanni Velaquez, Graham Muckenfuss, Vanessa Solis, Mercedes Ceng, and Cruz.

The journalism program also recently launched its new website––––in partnership with the Washington Post. Mt. SAC is the only community college to chosen to be a part of this pilot program, which includes USC Annenberg, Columbia, and the University of Maryland.