Mt. SAC to Honor 20 Students of Distinction

By Mike Taylor

June 27, 2017 - 01:46 PM

Mt. SAC will honor 20 Students of Distinction at its annual awards ceremony and luncheon on Saturday, May 13 at 11:30 a.m. at the Pacific Palms Resort, 1 Industry Hills Parkway, in the City of Industry.

These annual awards recognize students for competitive, academic, and personal achievement as well as outstanding service to the college. Recipients of this year’s Academic Achievement award, who earned a minimum 3.75 GPA, are Nuha Alomari, Angelika Alzaga, Justin DesRochers, Hanna Kang, William Mo, Shahar Syed, and Robert Zou.

Recipients of the Service Achievement award, who earned a minimum 3.0 GPA and provided notable volunteer service to the college and community, are Rodolfo Arevalo, Alejandro Juarez-Ugalde, and Chris Shen.

Recipients of Personal Achievement award, who were selected based on a minimum 2.75 GPA and overcame personal hardship, are Perla Gonzalez, Karen Guerra, Jerome Kimes, Jodi Levy, Janell Martinez, and Divine Otico.

Recipients of the Competitive Achievement award, who earned a minimum 3.0 GPA and earned distinction as part of a competitive student group or team, are Brandon Nicely, Lindy Rzonca, Michael Woo, and Charlotte Zhang.

Tickets for the awards luncheon are $15 and must be purchased by May 8 through the Student Life Office: (909) 274-4525.