Japanese


Why Learn Japanese?

Japanese is spoken by more than 130 million people, mainly in Japan, but also by Japanese emigrant communities around the world. It is distinguished by a complex system of honorifics reflecting the hierarchical nature of Japanese society, with verb forms and particular vocabulary to indicate the relative status of speaker, listener, and the person mentioned in conversation. The earliest record of Japanese is in a Chinese document from 252 A.D. A vast number of words were borrowed from Chinese or created from Chinese models over at least 1,500 years. Since the late 19th century, Japanese has borrowed a considerable number of words from Indo-European languages, primarily English.

Mt. SAC offers beginning and intermediate, university-transferable Japanese language courses that include both verbal and written learning, taught by native speakers in both English and Japanese.


Course Offerings

Japanese (JAPN)


Faculty

Name Phone Email
Yuka Brown 909-274-3277 ybrown@mtsac.edu
Jun Fukushima 909-274-3198 nfukushima@mtsac.edu
Grace Kiang 909-274-3434 gkiang@mtsac.edu
Yuki McPhail 909-274-4581 ymcphail@mtsac.edu
Grigor Ketenchian   gketenchian@mtsac.edu
Mihoko Luther 909-274-3708 mluther@mtsac.edu
Yumi Parks 909-274-3709 yparks@mtsac.edu
Emi Okubo   eokubo@mtsac.edu
Saito Saeko 909-274-3559 ssaito@mtsac.edu
Saori Tauchi 909-274-3440 stauchi@mtsac.edu