Spanish


Why Learn Spanish?

Spanish is a Romance language originally from the northern area of Spain. It is the only official language covering the entirety of Spain, most Latin American countries, and one of the official languages of Equatorial Guinea. In total, twenty-five nations and territories use Spanish as their primary language. In addition, it is an important language in twenty other countries. Spanish is the native language to more than 400 million people, making it the most popular Romance language and probably the second most spoken language by number of native speakers. It is estimated that approximately 500 million people speak Spanish worldwide, probably making it the third most spoken language by total number of speakers. Spanish is also the second-most popular language in California, particularly Southern California.

Mt. SAC offers beginning and intermediate, university-transferable Spanish language courses that include both verbal and written learning, taught by native speakers in both English and Spanish.


Course Offerings

Spanish (SPAN)


Faculty

Name Phone Office Email
Veronica Alvarez     valvarez@yahoo.com
Pablo Paler     pbaler@mtsac.edu
Martha D. Blake     88mblake@sbcglobal.net
Miriam Boada     mboada@mtsac.edu
Manuel Castillejos 909-274-5272 66-235 mcastillejos@mtsac.edu
Antonio Fuentes     aztk09ant@hotmail.com
Victor Garcia     panchitacol@msn.com
Iris Guerra-Louis     irisglouis@aol.com
Luisa Howell 909-274-4968 66-239 Lhowell@mtsac.edu
Brian Jones-Ramey      
Kurt Kemp 909-274-4583 66-241 kkemp@mtsac.edu
Lisa Kogat     ninakogat@yahoo.com
Guillermo Labrit     labritgu@aol.com
Natalia Lyon 909-274-3354   nlyon@mtsac.edu
Lorena Molina 909-274-5589   lmolina@mtsac.edu
Aaron Salinger 909-274-4584 66-235 asalinger@mtsac.edu
Lizbet Sanchez 909-274-4817 66-239 lzsanchez@mtsac.edu
Daniel Tamayo      
Buenaventura Ugas-Abreus     Bugas-abreus@mtsac.edu
Esther Vogel     evogel@mtsac.edu
Haydee Zumaeta     hzumaeta@mtsac.edu