Sign Language/Interpreting Department

The Mt. San Antonio College Interpreter Training Program is designed to prepare individuals for careers as Sign Language Interpreters who are needed wherever communication happens between the hearing community and the Deaf and hard-of-hearing community. Interpreters are employed by school districts, cruise ship companies, corporations, government agencies, hospitals, colleges and universities, and a vast number of organizations and private businesses.

Featured Events
  • two students signing

      • Program Preparation
        Preparation for the program includes fluency in American Sign Language demonstrated by the completion of SIGN 104, (or the equivalent skill) and English fluency demonstrated by the completion of ENGL 1A.
  • sign class

      • National Certification
        There are many specialties within the field of Sign Language Interpreting, but the focus of this program is on preparing the interpreter generalist. Although requiring some type of certification is becoming more common in California, there are still many job opportunities for the precertified interpreter.
  • sign teacher

      • Career Opportunities
        There are an endless number of settings in which this communication takes place. Interpreters are employed by school districts, cruiseship companies, corporations, government agencies, hospitals, colleges and universities, and a vast number of other organizations and private businesses.
Name Title Office Location Email Phone
Julie Bradley Counselor - ACCESS 9B-134 jkbradley@mtsac.edu (909) 274 - 5645
Sandon Larson Prof - American Sign Language 66-214A slarson6@mtsac.edu (909) 274 - 0139
Tina Jenkins Lead Interpreter   tjenkins@mtsac.edu  
Jennifer Stephenson Lead Interpreter 9D jstephenson4@mtsac.edu (909) 274 - 6047
Robert Augustus Prof - Sign Lang, Interpret 66-214A raugustus@mtsac.edu (866) 954-4049
Yazmin Marin Adjunct Professor   ymarin4@mtsac.edu  
Sign Language & Interpreting Department

8:30 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.
Building 66-214B
(909) 274-4443
Bob Stuard 
www.mtsac.edu/sign-language