Ask Joe
Mt. SAC Important Message

COVID-19 NOTICE: To take classes ON CAMPUS this upcoming Winter 2022 term, vaccinations will be required. Fully online students are exempt from this requirement. Learn about the December 10 deadline for the first dose, exemptions and more in your Mt. SAC email or www.mtsac.edu/covid19

Menu

Spanish


Why Learn Spanish?

Spanish is a Romance language originally from the northern area of Spain. It is the only official language covering the entirety of Spain, most Latin American countries, and one of the official languages of Equatorial Guinea. In total, twenty-five nations and territories use Spanish as their primary language. In addition, it is an important language in twenty other countries. Spanish is the native language to more than 400 million people, making it the most popular Romance language and probably the second most spoken language by number of native speakers. It is estimated that approximately 500 million people speak Spanish worldwide, probably making it the third most spoken language by total number of speakers. Spanish is also the second-most popular language in California, particularly Southern California.

Mt. SAC offers beginning and intermediate, university-transferable Spanish language courses that include both verbal and written learning, taught by native speakers in both English and Spanish.


Course Offerings

Spanish (SPAN)


Full-Time Faculty

Name Phone Office Email
Manuel Castillejos 909-274-5272 66-235 mcastillejos@mtsac.edu
Luisa Howell 909-274-4968 66-239 Lhowell@mtsac.edu
Kurt Kemp 909-274-4583 66-241 kkemp@mtsac.edu
Francesca Rinaldi 909-274-5223 66-239 frinaldi@mtsac.edu 
Aaron Salinger 909-274-4584 66-235 asalinger@mtsac.edu
Lizbet Sanchez 909-274-4817 66-239 lsanchez@mtsac.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Name Email
Maria Ambriz mambriz@mtsac.edu 
Pablo Paler pbaler@mtsac.edu
Miriam Boada mboada@mtsac.edu
Leslie D├ívila ldavila10@mtsac.edu 
Antonio Fuentes aztk09ant@hotmail.com
Victor Garcia panchitacol@msn.com
Lisa Kogat ninakogat@yahoo.com
Guillermo Labrit labritgu@aol.com
Natalia Lyon nlyon@mtsac.edu
Buenaventura Ugas-Abreus bugas-abreus@mtsac.edu
Esther Vogel evogel@mtsac.edu
Haydee Zumaeta hzumaeta@mtsac.edu