Ask Joe
Mt. SAC Emergency Alert

Alert: Mt. SAC has Transitioned to Online Classes and Services (see Learn more about our COVID-19 response at

Softball Team & Jennum Honored at Board Meeting

Women's Softball team with the Board

October 18, 2019 - 10:44 AM

Womens Softball teamAt this past Board of Trustees meeting, held on October 9, 2019, recognition was given to Head Coach Ruby Rojas and the Mt. SAC Women’s Softball Team, which won its second consecutive State Championship.  This marks the first time in school history that the softball program has won back-to-back titles.  Coach Rojas was named the South Coast Conference (SCC) Softball and the SCC All-Sports Women’s Coach of the Year.  The softball staff was named the National Fastpitch Coaches Association California Junior College Coaching Staff of the Year.  Student-athlete Brianna Wheeler earned SCC and state pitcher of the year honors, Ciara Granado was named softball state championship MVP, Quinn De Avila received the state championships Golden Glove Award, while Ally Longtree was named the SCC Player of the Year.

Athletics Department with Board and Womens Softball teamCongratulations was also given to Mt. SAC Athletics Director Joe Jennum and the Mountie Athletics Department for once again capturing the National Association of Two Year College Athletic Administrators’ (NATYCAA) 2018-2019 “Daktronics NATYCAA Cup.”  This marks their 9th overall and 7th consecutive Cup Championship, recognizing the state’s premier athletics program.  The points are awarded to a team’s finish at CCCAA (California Community College Athletic Association) post conference championships.  Mt. SAC also capped off a decade of dominance in the South Coast Conference (SCC), earning a 10th consecutive SCC Supremacy Title.

In addition to the recognitions, the following items were covered at the meeting.


 Ashley Walker, the College’s senior policy advisor from Nossaman LLP’s Sacramento office, provided an overview of the work conducted on behalf of, and in partnership with, the College. The College took a total of 12 positions on bills this year, including the following that were signed by the governor:

  • AB 30 (Holden) – College and Career Access Pathways (CCAP). • AB 48 (O’Donnell) – Education Facilities Bond. • SB 554 (Roth) - Public schools: adult school students: Advanced Scholastic and Vocational Training Program.

Working together this year, the College increased visibility in Sacramento with key decision makers, strengthened relationships with members of the Legislature, Administration and staff, and advocated to continue to fund noncredit at the full rate and not be folded into the supplemental or student success allocations of the Student Centered Funding Formula (SCFF) with the Legislature and Administration.


Dr. Joumana McGowan, Associate Vice President Instructional Services, and Dr. Madelyn Arballo Associate Vice President, School of Continuing Education, provided information on enrollment management. 

Among the highlights: • The School of Continuing Education continues to grow with 2018-19 enrollment at 7,910, compared to 7,727  in 2017-18 • Pomona, West Covina, La Puente, Walnut and Covina are the top cities in which our students live. • Forty percent of our enrollment comes from out of the district. Ontario and Chino Hills are the top cities sending students to Mt. SAC. • Mt. SAC continues to lead the state in overall noncredit enrollment. Mt. SAC has grown 31 percent since 2014-15, while the average percent change for the state was 7 percent.


  • Approved the Consent Calendar, with the following approved separately: o Agreement Ratification and Acceptance of Funds: Baldwin Park Unified School District for the Early Head Start Program Partnership o Ratification of Affiliation Agreement with Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian for Histotechnology Student Training o Ratification of Affiliation Agreement with Chino Valley Medical Center for Histotechnology Student Training o Ratification of Affiliation Agreement with Kenneth W. Lee, MD and Associates Laboratory for Histotechnology Student Training • Approved Resolution No. 19-11 - Approval to Compensate Trustee Jay Chen for His Absence from the Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees on September 11, 2019 • Approved Resolution No. 19-12 - Approval to Compensate Trustee Rosanne Bader for Her Absence from the Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees on September 11, 2019
  • Approved Resolution 19-13 - Declare October 14 - 18, 2019, as Undocumented Student Action Week


 Discussed Proposed Revision to Board Policy 2330 - Quorum and Voting


 Heard information on Revision to Administrative Procedure 7250 - Educational Administrators


 TRUSTEES Dr. Manuel Baca, Rosanne Bader, Jay Chen, Gary Chow  Judy Chen Haggerty, Esq., Robert Hidalgo, Laura Santos Maricela Vazquez Aviles, Student Trustee

 Dr. William T. Scroggins, President & CEO