

Building 410 – Conference Room 1020

Members [19]			
			☐ Sara Mestas
Raul Madrid, Co-Chair	☐ George Bradshaw		☐ Briseida Ramirez-Catalan
	⋈ Monika Chavez	⋈ Renu Katoch	
	☐ Francisco Dorame	☐ eugene mahmoud	
Student Representative:	☐ Tyler Lee		☑ Dani Silva
Recorder: Monica Jones	Guests: Ed Henderson		

ltem Agenda Item Discussion/Outcome No. Motion to approve minutes from March 17, 2025, made by Esteban, Jimmy Second. 1.0 Review Today's Agenda and Minutes: March 17 Vote, Motion Passed. Accreditation Standard IV.A.7 Ed shared the following information on the new website for students - AB 1111, AB 928 2.0 Presentation on AB928 and AB1111 Website and Materials and Cal-GETC: Ed Henderson • Purpose: Provide students with information on the new CA legislation that impacts registration, course selection, degree selection, graduation and transfer. Website: Provides descriptions of Common Course Numbering, FAQ's, list of Fall 2025 Common Course Numbering Changes and Course Numbering Timeline from Fall 2025 – 2027 Support Resources: Website provides linked resources (Counseling, EAB Navigate App, Transfer and Completion Center, Student Services website and Instruction website. Accreditation Standard I.B.7 Accreditation Standard I.C.1 Accreditation Standard II.A.7



Building 410 – Conference Room 1020

3.0	Mt. SAC 2035 Draft Goals Raul Madrid	 Raul shared the following information on the Mt. SAC 2035 Draft Goals: Mt. SAC Integrated Planning: Mt. SAC 2035 will serve as the foundation for integrated planning processes and cycles of continuous quality improvement. It is accomplished through Mt. SAC's participatory governance, implementation of focused plans, and the work of College units. Institutional Goal 1: Equitable + Innovative Teaching Institutional Goal 2: Equitable Access Institutional Goal 3: Holistic Support Accreditation Standard I.B.6 Accreditation Standard I.B.7 Accreditation Standard I.C.1 Accreditation Standard II.A.7
4.0	Shared Governance Handbook Melba Castro & Raul Madrid	Reviewed the draft Shared Governance Handbook and tables illustrating various organizational groups. Handbook is informed by legal opinion (requirements of Brown Act, Board Docs, in-person meetings, etc.). Accreditation Standard IV.A.2 Accreditation Standard IV.A.7
5.0	SEAP Plan Melba Castro	The SEP Plan has a multiyear cycle and is due November 30, 2025. The Plan will need Board approval prior to being submitted. We will be integrating a workgroup for the development of the Plan. Accreditation Standard I.B.6 Accreditation Standard IV.A.5
6.0	Committee Meeting Minutes for Review and Approval:	
a.	Student Equity – March 10 minutes received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: Eric Lara & Vacant	Motion to approve minutes made by Tania, Elmer Second. Vote. Motion Passed. Accreditation Standard IV.A.7



Building 410 – Conference Room 1020

b.	Assessment and Matriculation – No minutes received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: George Bradshaw & Vacant	
C.	Retention and Persistence – No minutes received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: Karelyn Hoover & Vacant	
d.	Textbook and Materials – No minutes received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: Monika Chavez & Sylvia Romelia	
е.	Education and Technology – October 28 minutes received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: Melba Castro & Raul Madrid	Motion to approve minutes made by Monika, Madelyn Second. Vote. Motion Passed. Accreditation Standard IV.A.7
	Future Agenda Items: AP 5040 Student Records, Directory Information, and Privacy AP 5010 Admissions AP 5020 Non-Resident Tuition	
	Future Meeting Dates: In-Person: April 21, May 5, May 19, June 2 Building 410, Conference Room 1020	



Building 410 – Conference Room 1020

Membership

Position Represented	Name	Term
Vice President, Student Services (Co-Chair)	Melba Castro	ongoing
Vice President, Academic Senate (Co-Chair)	Raul Madrid	ongoing
Academic Senate President	Tania Anders	ongoing
Faculty (appointed by Academic Senate)	Esteban Aguilar	2022-25
	Elmer Rodriguez	2023-26
	Sara Mestas	2023-26
	(Noncredit) Briseida Ramirez-Catalan	2022-25
	Renu Katoch	2023-26
	eugene mahmoud	2024-27
Representative* (appointed by the Vice President, Instruction)	Madelyn Arballo	2022-25
Representative* (manager appointed by the Vice President, Instruction)	Jimmy Tamayo	2022-25
Dean of Counseling	Francisco Dorame	ongoing
Assessment and Matriculation Committee Co-Chair faculty, or faculty designee	Vacant	ongoing
Textbook & Instructional Materials faculty Co-Chair or faculty designee	Monika Chavez	ongoing
Student Equity Committee Co-Chair faculty, or faculty designee	Vacant	ongoing
Retention and Persistence Committee Co-Chair faculty, or faculty designee	Vacant	ongoing
Dean of Enrollment Management	George Bradshaw	ongoing
Classified representing Student Services* (appointed by CSEA 262)	Elizabeth Estevez	2024-27
Classified representing Instruction* (appointed by CSEA 262)	Chris Estrada	2024-27
Students (appointed by the Associated Students)	Tyler Lee	2024-25
	Joey Perez	2024-25
	Dani Silva	2024-25



Building 410 – Conference Room 1020

Committee's Reporting to SPEAC

Committee	Co-Chairs
Assessment and Matriculation Committee	George Bradshaw, Dean, Enrollment Management
	Vacant
Education and Technology Committee	Melba Castro, Vice President, Student Services
	Raul Madrid, Academic Senate Co-Vice President
Retention and Persistence Committee	Karelyn Hoover, Dean, Humanities & Social Sciences
	Vacant
Student Equity Committee	Eric Lara, Associate Dean, Student Success & Equity
	Vacant
Textbook & Instructional Materials	Monika Chavez, Library Faculty (Career Education)
	Sylvia Romelia, Dean of Library, Learning Resources, and Distance Learning