

## embers [21] $\boxtimes$ Melba Castro, Co-Chair $\boxtimes$ George Bradshaw Chris Estrada Briseida Ramirez-Catalan $\boxtimes$ $\boxtimes$ Raul Madrid, Co-Chair $\times$ Monika Chavez Renu Katoch $\boxtimes$ Elmer Rodriguez $\boxtimes$ Esteban Aguilar Krysten DeWilde $\boxtimes$ eugene mahmoud Jimmy Tamayo $\boxtimes$ $\ge$ Tania Anders Francisco Dorame Sara Mestas $\boxtimes$ $\times$ $\boxtimes$ Madelyn Arballo $\times$ Elizabeth Estevez Bruce Nixon **Student Representative:** $\times$ Tyler Lee ⊠ Joey Perez $\times$ Dani Silva

Recorder: Monica Jones

**Guest:** Joe Louis Hernandez, Director, Rising Scholars

ltem No.	Agenda Item	Discussion/Outcome
1.0	Review Today's Agenda and Minutes: <u>November 4</u>	Motion to approve minutes from November 4, 2024, made by Esteban, Francisco Second. Vote. Abstain: Melba. Motion Passed.
		Accreditation Standard IV.A.7
2.0	Rising Scholars Program Joe Louis Hernandez	<ul> <li>Joe Louis shared the following information on the Rising Scholars Program:</li> <li>Mission &amp; Philosophy</li> <li>Who We Serve</li> <li>Services Provided</li> <li>Program Benefits</li> <li>Educational Pathways</li> <li>Process for Referring Students</li> <li>Student Data</li> </ul>
		Accreditation Standard I.B.7 Accreditation Standard I.C.1 Accreditation Standard II.A.7



3.0	Mt. SAC 2035 Taskforce Raul Madrid	Raul shared flyer of Mt. SAC 2035 November Communication Items (listening sessions, survey, planning sessions). Accreditation Standard I.B.6 Accreditation Standard I.B.7 Accreditation Standard I.C.1 Accreditation Standard II.A.7
4.0 a.	Shared Governance: Committee Structure         Input on Committee Structure Email 9-19-24         Governance Taskforce Report to PAC 6-5-24         Committee Information         Report Out and Reflection	Continued discussion on committee structure and taskforce follow-up meetings. Smaller taskforce would like time to have more discussions and prepare the committees they are leading. Textbook and Materials Committee is open to any structure that keeps the work of the group going. Education and Technology Committee is open to transition to a workgroup. Committees will need to be Brown Act compliant by April 1. Accreditation Standard IV.A.2 Accreditation Standard IV.A.7
5.0	AP/BP Updates (ongoing):	No AP/BP to review
6.0	Priority Registration Requests eugene mahmoud	Eugene presented information regarding AP 5055, priority registration and unit references. Recommendation 1 is to add robotics and turf teams to Category 2. Recommendation 2 is to change all related references of 100 units to 200 units. Committee created a Taskforce for updating AP 5055 and creating a rubric for priority registration requests. Taskforce members: Francisco (lead), Elmer, Elizabeth, Eugene, Dani, Jimmy and additional STEM student. Taskforce will provide a report to SPEAC in March 2025. Francisco informed the group that the 100 unit reference comes from Title 5 and is something all California Community Colleges must abide by. Priority Registration is also written into some State and Federal grants. Elmer will



		discuss the 100-unit appeal process at the next counseling faculty meeting in December. Motion to approve: Addition of Robotic and Turfs team in Category 2 of AP 5055. Motion made by Sara, Briseida Second. Vote. Motion Passed. This recommendation will be forwarded to the Academic Senate. Motion to approve: New requests for priority registration should originate in SPEAC and move through Academic Senate while we are waiting for a new clarified process to be included in AP 5055. Motion made by Bruce, Francisco Second. Vote. Abstained: Sara & Eugene. Motion Passed. Accreditation Standard I.B.6 Accreditation Standard I.B.7 Accreditation Standard I.C.1 Accreditation Standard I.C.5 Accreditation Standard II.C.5 Accreditation Standard II.C.5 Accreditation Standard II.C.6 Accreditation Standard IV.A.2 Accreditation Standard IV.A.5
7.0	Committee Meeting Minutes for Review and Approval:	
a.	Student Equity – <u>October 14</u> minutes received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: Eric Lara & Bruce Nixon	Table for next meeting.
b.	Assessment and Matriculation – No minutes received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: George Bradshaw & Krysten DeWilde	
C.	Retention and Persistence – No minutes received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: Karelyn Hoover & Vacant	
d.	Textbook and Materials – No minutes received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: Monika Chavez & Sylvia Romelia	



e.	Education and Technology – <u>September 23</u> minutes received for	Table for next meeting.
	acceptance.	
	Co-Chairs: Melba Castro & Raul Madrid	
	Future Agenda Items:	
	AP 5040 Student Records, Directory Information, and Privacy	
	Future Meeting Dates:	
	December 2, March 3, March 17, April 7, April 21, May 5, May 19, June 2	



## Membership

Position Represented	Name	Term
Vice President, Student Services (Co-Chair)	Melba Castro	ongoing
Vice President, Academic Senate (Co-Chair)	Raul Madrid	ongoing
Academic Senate President	Tania Anders	ongoing
Faculty (appointed by Academic Senate)	Esteban Aguilar	2022-25
	Elmer Rodriguez	2023-26
	Sara Mestas	2023-26
	(Noncredit) Briseida Ramirez-Catalan	2022-25
	Renu Katoch	2023-26
	Eugene Mahmoud	2024-27
Representative* (appointed by the Vice President, Instruction)	Madelyn Arballo	2022-25
Representative* (manager appointed by the Vice President, Instruction)	Jimmy Tamayo	2022-25
Dean of Counseling	Francisco Dorame	ongoing
Assessment and Matriculation Committee Co-Chair faculty, or faculty designee	Krysten DeWilde	ongoing
Textbook & Instructional Materials faculty Co-Chair or faculty designee	Monika Chavez	ongoing
Student Equity Committee Co-Chair faculty, or faculty designee	Bruce Nixon	ongoing
Retention and Persistence Committee Co-Chair faculty, or faculty designee		ongoing
Dean of Enrollment Management	George Bradshaw	ongoing
Classified representing Student Services* (appointed by CSEA 262)	Elizabeth Estevez	2024-27
Classified representing Instruction* (appointed by CSEA 262)	Chris Estrada	2024-27
Students (appointed by the Associated Students)	Tyler Lee	2024-25
	Joey Perez	2024-25
	Dani Silva	2024-25



## Committee's Reporting to SPEAC

Committee	Co-Chairs
Assessment and Matriculation Committee	George Bradshaw, Dean, Enrollment Management
	Krysten DeWilde, Mathematics Professor
Education and Technology Committee	Melba Castro, Vice President, Student Services
	Raul Madrid, Academic Senate Co-Vice President
Retention and Persistence Committee	Karelyn Hoover, Dean, Humanities & Social Sciences
	Vacant
Student Equity Committee	Eric Lara, Associate Dean, Student Success & Equity
	Bruce Nixon, Professor-Mental Health
Textbook & Instructional Materials	Monika Chavez, Library Faculty (Career Education)
	Sylvia Romelia, Dean of Library, Learning Resources, and Distance Learning