## IRB Committee Meeting October 1, 2021 Zoom Meeting (1:00 p.m. ~ 3:00 p.m.)

	RIE Director		Academic Senate Appointments		Academic Senate Appointments		Managers – Appointed by VPs		Unaffiliated Member
<b>✓</b>	Patricia Quinones (Co-Chair) (Term: Ongoing)	✓	Catherine McKee (Biomedical Science) (Term: 2021-2023)	✓	John Norvell (Co-Chair) (Behavioral or Biomedical Science)? (Co-Chair) (Term: 2021-2024)	✓	Adrienne Price (Grants Office) (Term: 2020-2023)	✓	Nicholas Athey (Assistant Professor of Sociology, University of La Verne) (Term: 2020-2023)
	CSEA Appointments		Carmen Rexach (Biomedical Science) (Term: 2021-2022)		Danielle Dervishian (Biology) (Term 2020-2023) (Alternate)	✓	Aida Cuenza-Uvas (AANAPISI) (Term: 2021-2024)		
	Michelle Newhart (Non-Scientist) (Term: 2019-2022)	<b>✓</b>	Misty Kolchakian (Behavioral Science) (Term: 2021-2024)		Sierra (Vane) Powell* (Behavioral Science) (Term: 2021-2023)	✓	Ryan Mahler (ACCESS) (Term: 2021-2024)		

Terms shortened per Academic Senate (See below) are renewable for full three years.)

Regrets: Carmen Rexach, Sierra Powell, Danielle Dervishian, Michelle Newhart Tentative:

Notes: Doris Torres, Administrative Specialist III

<sup>\*</sup> Alternates (verify).

Item	Topic	Outcome/Action Item				
1.	Welcome and     Announcements     (John)	John introduced and welcomed:  Patty Quinones – new RIE Director and IRB Co-Chair – Replaces Barbara McNeice-Stallard  Aida Cuenza-Uvas – Director, Arise Program (AANAPISI) – Replaces George Bradshaw  Ryan Mahler – Access and DHHS – Newly appointed in May 2021  Brief introductions from new members				
		<ul> <li>Members of the committee welcomed Patty, Aida and Ryan.</li> <li>Ryan Mahler has been appointed by Dean Flood. Ryan Mahler will be added to "Managers appointed by VPs" column.</li> <li>Announcements:</li> <li>Remove "Alternate" from members:</li> <li>Sierra (Vane) Powell – Academic Senate</li> <li>Michelle Newhart – CSEA</li> <li>Both have agreed to become "Full Time Members"</li> <li>Changes will be made starting in November.</li> </ul>				
		John Norvell and Chisato Uyeki, Academic Senate President, met and discussed expired terms for the appointed IRB members. Decision was made, that terms will not expire at the same time to eliminate members from being appointed during the same year.  Chisa and Faculty Senate agreed to extend terms for the following members:  Danielle Dervishian will expire 2020-2023  Carmen Rexach will expire 2021-2022  Catherine McKee and Sierra Powell will be appointed for two more years and will expire 2021-2023  Misty Kolchakian and John Norvell will be a full 3-year term starting 2021-2024				
2.	• Minutes (Doris)	May 7, 2021 minutes approved by committee				
3.	• Presentation: AP 3260 (John)	Classroom Base Research  • John met with Patty Quinones and Chisato Uyeki. The decision was made to make changes to AP 3260. John gave a general explanation of those changes.				

		AP 3260 – Guidelines for Research in the Classroom:		
		<ul> <li>Guidelines were added allowing faculty review of research that meets the criteria for "exempt" or "expedited" review for and students on human subject's research. Mandates IRB review for research that goes beyond these criteria.</li> </ul>		
		Group members discussed and reviewed AP 3260. They would like to see specific paragraphs re-worded so faculty can have a better understanding of the guidelines.		
4.	IRB Research     Projects	No IRB projects to review or approve.		

Future Meetings – November, and December 2021 - First Friday of each month (If Needed).

\*Update Membership on IRB and FWA Website per DHHS Directives

Mt. SAC IRB
Federalwide Assurance (FWA) # FWA00021745
Effective until April 15, 2024
Mt San Antonio College IRB #1
IORG# 0004996 (College)
ORG: IRB00005967 (For Our Work)
Expires May 29, 2022