

Accrediting Commission for Schools Western Association of Schools and Colleges

533 Airport Boulevard, Suite 200 • Burlingame, California 94010 (650) 696-1060 • Fax (650) 696-1867 mail@acswasc.org • www.acswasc.org

BARRY R. GROVES, ED.D.
President

MARILYN S. GEORGE, ED.D.
Vice President

COMMISSION MEMBERS

STEPHEN CATHERS

Chairperson

East Asia Regional Council of Schools

GREGORY FRANKLIN Vice Chairperson Association of California School Administrators

THOMAS ADAMS

California Department of Education

MICHAEL ALVAREZ Western Catholic Educational Association

SAMANTHA BENISH California Federation of Teachers

GRANT BENNETT Association of California School Administrators

RON CARRUTH
Association of California School
Administrators

NANCY COONIS Western Catholic Educational Association

ERIKA CRUZ Pacific Islands

MITCHELL D'OLIER Public Member, Hawaii

ODIE DOUGLAS

Association of California School

Administrators

LEE DUNCAN
Association of Christian Schools
International

JUAN A. FLECHA Association of California School Administrators

ANDREA FUKUMOTO Hawaii State Department of Education

DAVID GAUDI Hawaii Association of Independent Schools

MELISSA HANDY Hawaii Association of Independent Schools

LAURA HERMAN Charter Schools

DEREK MINAKAMI Hawaii Government Employees' Association

JOE MITCHNER Public Member, California

SUZANNE MULCAHY Hawaii State Department of Education

BARBARA NUNES California School Boards Association

DOREEN OLESON
California Association of Independent
Schools

MATTHEW RUSSO Postsecondary Education

LAUREL SALERNO-WHITE California Teachers Association

MARSHA SERAFIN California Association of Private School Organizations

KIMBERLY SHIELDS Western Catholic Educational Association

SALLY TODD Western Catholic Educational Association

BERIT VON POHLE
Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day
Adventists

JOEL WAHLERS National Lutheran School Accreditation

DIANA WALSH-REUSS Association of California School Administrators

SOPHIA WAUGH
California Congress of Parents and
Teachers, Inc. (PTA)

DAVID YOSHIHARA Association of California School Administrators June 29, 2018

Dr. Madelyn A. Arballo, Ed.D.
Dean, School of Continuing Education
Mt. San Antonio College Continuing Education
1100 N. Grand Avenue
Walnut, CA 91789

Dear Dr. Arballo:

The Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and Colleges (ACS WASC) announces the action taken at the Summer 2018 Commission Meeting. The ACS WASC Commissioners have determined Mt. San Antonio College Continuing Education (PS) meets the ACS WASC criteria for accreditation. This accreditation status is based on all of the information provided by the school, including the self-study report, and the satisfactory completion of the on-site accreditation visit.

It is the decision of the Commission to grant Six-Year Accreditation Status through June 30, 2024.

Mt. San Antonio College Continuing Education is required to submit a Mid-cycle Progress Report at the end of the third year of the current six-year accreditation cycle. The progress report should demonstrate that the school has:

- Addressed the critical areas for follow-up through the schoolwide action plan;
- Made appropriate progress on the implementation of the schoolwide action plan; and
- Improved student achievement relative to the schoolwide learner outcomes and the academic standards.

Accreditation status is conditioned upon Mt. San Antonio College Continuing Education's continued adherence with the ACS WASC policies, procedures, and criteria for accreditation. This includes a requirement that an accredited school annually contribute members from the school staff or district to participate on visiting committees. Failure to maintain compliance with said policies, procedures, and standards is grounds for modification and/or withdrawal of the accreditation.

June 29, 2018 Mt. San Antonio College Continuing Education Page 2

The Commission looks forward to Mt. San Antonio College Continuing Education's anticipated success and continuing improvement in keeping with ACS WASC's pursuit of excellence in elementary, secondary, and adult education.

Sincerely,

Stephen Cathers

Commission Chairperson

cc: Visiting Committee Chairperson

Superintendent