College Champions Award Winners

And the 2012 winners are . . .

Congratulations to the recipients of the new presidential College Champion Awards!

Carol Webster, Teaching/Learning Technology Specialist, Online Learning Support Center

Carol Webster is very dedicated to improving student success through various e-learning technologies that can be used in both distance learning and traditional classes. In this effort, she maintains a positive spirit and “can-do” attitude. She is always seeking ways to help faculty share their knowledge with others on campus. She is the first line of defense for many faculty questions and problems when dealing with technology issues, and she goes above and beyond to help faculty solve these problems. She doesn’t stop working when her shift is over and is often found responding to problems in the evenings and during precious weekend time. To read more, click here ...

Jim Gau, Professor, Computer Information Systems

Jim Gau is the faculty adviser to the CIS Computer Club and main coach for the Mt. SAC Cyber Defense Team which won the 2012 NCL (National Cyber League) championship beating De Paul University and 24 other colleges and universities in the United States. Jim spent countless hours during the evening and weekends training these students. In addition, as Service Learning Adviser, he leads students to serve in the neighboring schools and organizations in their computing and networking needs, again during weekends and some weekdays. He also was one of the faculty who developed the present networking and security courses, certificates and degree which is now the model curriculum that will be propagated to most of the Western States through the $3 million NSF (National Science Foundation) grant which the CIS department received. He teaches almost all of these courses every semester, from which recruits members of the cyber defense team. To read more, click here ...


Laura Martinez, Secretary, Professional and Organizational Development

In a famous leadership quote Martin Luther King once said: "The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy." I have witnessed Laura standing up for her fellow colleagues, leaving her comfort zone, and speaking out about the many challenges our campus has faced over this past year. Although her role is a secretary for Professional Development, she has become a leader through the many additional roles she has willingly stepped into. She has integrity which makes people want to follow her. She truly has made an impact on all employees. To read more, click here ...


Carol, Jim, and Laura will be presented their awards by President Scroggins at Convocation this Friday and will enjoy a pre-ceremony breakfast with the president and the VOICES Committee. In addition to breakfast and a $500 cash award, each winner will receive a unique commemorative trophy created by Art Professor Craig Deines and student Marco Rodriguez.

The College Champion Awards comprise Mt. SAC’s newest employee recognition program. All employees are eligible, and nominations are accepted by employees in three categories:

  • Eternal Flame Award—recognizes an employee for dedication to one or more of Mt. SAC’s core values
  • Burning Bright Award—recognizes an employee for going “above and beyond” in his or her role
  • Torch Bearer Award—honors contributions by an employee who has positively impacted the college community


Return to Current Champion Award Winners