STUDENT PREPARATION, EQUITY, AND ACHIEVEMENT COUNCIL

(Academic Senate Committee)

Purpose

The Student Preparation, Equity, and Achievement Council exists to make recommendations to the Academic Senate that support racial justice, and lead to student equity, access, achievement, preparation and success based on stakeholder input, state policies affecting community colleges, and informed discussion.

Function

- 1. Recommend student equity, access, achievement, preparation, and success priorities for the college
- 2. Research, review, develop, and recommend to the Academic Senate policies and procedures related to the Council's purpose.
- Analyze and synthesize data and information to develop recommendations on policies to the campus decision-making process related to the Council's purpose (Reference Title 5, section 53200 – that "standards or policies regarding student preparation and success" are "academic and professional matters").
- 4. Refer issues and concerns to committees for follow-up.
- Review and forward recommendations from the Assessment and Matriculation, Student Equity, and Retention and Persistence, <u>and</u> Textbook and Instructional Materials committees and provide direction and feedback to the Academic Senate.
- 6. Review and recommend Student Equity, Achievement Programs reports, standards, procedures, and policies including the development of standards, policies, and procedures related to SEAP budget planning and processes.
- 7. Implement the Guided Pathways framework to support student equity, access, achievement, preparation, and success.

	Position Represented	Name	Term
1.	Vice President, Student Services (Co-Chair)	Audrey Yamagata-Noji	ongoing
2.	Vice President, Academic Senate (Co-Chair)	Lance Heard	ongoing
3.	Academic Senate President	Chisa Uyeki	ongoing
4.	Eight Seven Faculty (appointed by Academic	Vacant	2020-23
	Senate)	John Kuchta	
5.		Matt Munro	2019-22
		Esteban Aguilar	
6.		Lani Ruh	2020-23
7.		Vacant	2019-22
		Michelle Nava	
8.		Sara Mestas	2019-22
9.		Vacant	2018-21
10.		(Noncredit)	2019-22
		Briseida Ramirez-Catalan	
11.		Donna Necke	2019-22
12.	Representative* (appointed by the Vice President,	Joumana Mc Gowan	2019-22
	Instruction)	Tammy Knott Silva	
		Kelly Fowler	
13.	Representative* (manager appointed by the Vice	Madelyn Arballo	2019-22
	President, Instruction)	Mark Lowentrout	

Membership (24) (23)

 14. Dean of Counseling 15. Assessment and Matriculation Committee Co-Chain faculty, or faculty designee 16. Textbook & Instructional Materials faculty Co-Chain or faculty designee 	Monika Chavez (Fall 20) Allie Frickert (Spring 21)	ongoing ongoing ongoing
faculty, or faculty designee16.Textbook & Instructional Materials faculty Co-Chain	Monika Chavez (Fall 20) Allie Frickert (Spring 21)	
16. Textbook & Instructional Materials faculty Co-Chair	Allie Frickert (Spring 21)	ongoing
	Allie Frickert (Spring 21)	ongoing
or faculty designee		
	Monika Chavez	
17 Student Equity Committee Co-Chair faculty, or	Bruce Nixon	ongoing
faculty designee		
18. Retention and Persistence Committee Co-Chair	Jeanne Marie Velickovic	ongoing
faculty, or faculty designee	Patricia Quiñones	
19. Dean of Enrollment Management	George Bradshaw	ongoing
20. Classified representing Student Services* (appoint	ed Guadalupe De La Cruz	2018-21
by CSEA 262)	Vacant	2021-24
21. Classified representing Instruction* (appointed by	Vacant	2019-22
CSEA 262)	<u>Eva Figueroa Morales</u>	<u>2021-24</u>
22. Students (appointed by the Associated Students)	Hugo Fulcheri	2020-21
	Martin Chau	<u>2021-22</u>
23.	Vacant	2020-21
	<u>Joshua Suchoza</u>	<u>2021-22</u>
24.	Vacant	2020-21
		<u>2021-22</u>

*Appointments should be made with consultation among the Academic Senate President, the Vice President, Student Services, and the Vice President, Instruction to ensure representation from each of the following areas: Counseling, Assessment and Matriculation, Student Equity, and Basic Skills. A 50% plus one balance of council members will favor faculty representation.

Membership Meeting Times:

COMMITTEE TYPE	CO-CHAIRS	MEETING SCHEDULE	LOCATION	TIME
Academic Senate	Audrey Yamagata- Noji, Lance Heard	1 st and 3 rd Monday of each month	9B-Student Services Ragan Room	2:00-4:00 p.m.

Person Responsible to Maintain Committee Website:

Maridelle Acero Macero7@mtsac.edu Ext. 6230

College Website Link and Last Time Website Was Updated: <u>http://www.mtsac.edu/governance/committees/spas/</u> Last updated: <u>September 11, 2020 October 18, 2021</u>