#### **HEALTH AND SAFETY COMMITTEE**

(Operational Committee – Reports to Vice President, Administrative Services)

#### Purpose

The Health and Safety Committee exists for the purpose of providing education and resources pertaining to contemporary physical, mental health, and safety issues for the campus community. The goals of the Committee include:

- Raising awareness and use of campus and community health and safety resources.
- Increasing awareness of healthy lifestyle choices.
- Ensuring compliance with laws and regulations affecting safety.
- Promote and maintain safe working conditions.

### <u>Function</u>

- 1. Serve as the primary advisory body to the President's Advisory Council regarding health and safety issues.
- 2. Participate in the gathering and dissemination of health and safety information.
- 3. Study and make recommendations for the development, implementation, and facilitation of health and safety programs and services including disaster preparation and training.
- 4. Facilitate communication of unsafe conditions, practices, and health concerns and recommend corrective action.
- 5. Review campus accident and injury reports and make recommendations, as needed.

## Membership (15)

	Position Represented	<u>Name</u>	<u>Term</u>
1.	Director, Safety and Risk Management (Chair)	Duetta Langevin	ongoing
2.	Manager, Emergency Safety & Environmental	Sayeed Wadud	ongoing
	Services		
3.	Director, Student Health Services	Seth Meyers (Acting Director	ongoing
4.	Chief of Police and Public Safety	Mike Williams	ongoing
5.	Assistant Director, Facilities Planning	Bill Asher or Ken McAlpin	ongoing
	Management or Maintenance and Operations		
6.	Human Resources Staff (appointed by Vice	Nerissa Uiagalelei	2022-25
	President, Human Resources)		
7.	Dean and Director of Athletics	Joe Jennum	ongoing
8.	Director, Public Safety Programs	Ray Mosack	ongoing
9.	Faculty (appointed by the Faculty Association)	Vacant	2020-23
10.		Tim Engle	2021-24
11.	Classified (appointed by CSEA 651)	Irma Arvizu	2021-24
12.		Pete Gonzalez	2020-23
13.	Classified (appointed by CSEA 262)	Donna Lee	2021-24
14.		Carlos Duarte	2020-23
15.	Student (appointed by the Associated Students)	Becky Zhu	2022-23

# Membership Meeting Times:

COMMITTEE TYPE	CHAIR	MEETING SCHEDULE	LOCATION	TIME
Operational	Duetta	1 <sup>st</sup> Tuesday of each	Via Zoom and or	9:00-10:30
	Langevin	month	2460	a.m.

Person Responsible to Maintain Committee Website:

Andrea Solorzano asolorzano14@mtsac.edu, ext. 5501

College Website Link and Last Time Website Was Updated: <a href="https://www.mtsac.edu/governance/committees/safety">www.mtsac.edu/governance/committees/safety</a>