HEALTH & SAFETY COMMITTEE

(Operational Committee – Reports to Vice President, Administrative Services)

Purpose

The Health and Safety Committee exists for the purpose of providing education and resources pertaining to contemporary physical, mental health, and safety issues for the campus community. The goals of the Committee include:

- Raising awareness and use of campus and community health and safety resources.
- Increasing awareness of healthy lifestyle choices.
- Ensuring compliance with laws and regulations affecting safety.
- Promote and maintain safe working conditions.

Function

- 1. To serve as the primary advisory body to the President's Advisory Council regarding health and safety issues.
- 2. To participate in the gathering and dissemination of health and safety information.
- 3. To study and make recommendations for the development, implementation, and facilitation of health and safety programs and services including disaster preparation and training.
- 4. To facilitate communication of unsafe conditions, practices, and health concerns and recommend corrective action.
- 5. To review campus accident and injury reports and make recommendations, as needed.

Membership (15)

	Position Represented	<u>Name</u>	<u>Term</u>
1.	Director, Safety and Risk Management (Chair)	Duetta Langevin	ongoing
2.	Manager, Emergency & Environmental Safety	Melonee Cruse	ongoing
3.	Director, Health Services	Marti Whitford	ongoing
4.	Director, Public Safety	Dave Wilson	ongoing
5.	Assistant Director, Facilities or Manager, Custodial	Bill Asher or Ken McAlpin	ongoing
	Services		
6.	Human Resources	Joanne Franco	ongoing
7.	Physical Education	Joe Jennum	ongoing
8.	Director, Fire Technology	Steve Shull	ongoing
9.	Faculty (appointed by the Faculty Association)	Joe Terreri	2014-17
10.		Tim Engle	2015-18
11.	Classified (two appointed by CSEA 651 and two	651 Manuel Marquez	2015-18
12.	appointed by CSEA 262)	651 Pete Gonzalez	2014-17
13.		262 Donna Lee	2015-18
14.		262 Carlos Duarte	2016-18
15.	Student (appointed by the Associated Students)	Chris Shen	2016-17

Membership Meeting Times:

COMMITTEE TYPE	CHAIR	MEETING SCHEDULE	LOCATION	TIME
Operational	Duetta Langevin	1 st Tuesday of each month	4-2440	9:00-10:30 a.m.

Person Responsible to Maintain Committee Website:

Doris Torres dtorres@mtsac.edu, ext. 5501

College Website Link and Last Time Website Was Updated: www.mtsac.edu/governance/committees/safety