CLIMATE COMMITMENT AND ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE COMMITTEE (Governance Committee – Reports to President's Advisory Council)

Purpose

The Climate Commitment and Environmental Justice Committee advocates, guides and informs the campus community about the Climate Action Plan (CAP), the Carbon Commitment, and the sustainable and equitable implementation of the requirements of the CAP and Carbon Commitment, including:

- Raising awareness within the campus and broader community about climate change and the
 necessary institutional and cultural shifts that need to occur to adapt to unavoidable climate change
 and to mitigate what we cannot adapt to.
- Supporting the incorporation of sustainability and climate change across the curriculum.
- Working to develop and increase awareness of a sustainable and inclusive society. Sustainability
 has three main pillars: social equity, environmental protection, and economic viability. These pillars
 are informally referred to as people, planet, and prosperity.
- Promoting compliance with laws and regulations put forward by federal, state, and local entities as well as the California Community Colleges and Mt. SAC's commitments as described in the Climate Action Plan.
- Ensuring that Mt. SAC's College Goal # 5 (Embed environmental, social, and economic sustainability into the work and decision-making process of all areas of campus.) and the CAP are infused into the Educational Facilities Master Plan (EFMP).

Function

The Climate Commitment and Environmental Justice Committee is responsible for the development and implementation of a climate action plan (CAP) that will serve as a blueprint for Mt. SAC's achievement of neutrality in greenhouse gas emissions over a specified period. The committee also recommends steps to meet other requirements of the Carbon Commitment.

- 1. To promote environmental, economic, and social justice objectives within the campus and broader community.
- 2. To serve as the primary advisory body to the President's Advisory Council regarding the Carbon Commitment sponsored by Second Nature and sustainability initiatives across campus.
- 3. To develop, periodically update, and make publically available a Climate Action Plan that will make recommendations regarding the development, implementation, and facilitation of: 1) achievement of zero net greenhouse gas emissions; 2) integration of sustainability into curriculum, research, and professional development; 3) community outreach in the areas of sustainability and climate change; and 4) sustainable use of resources and 5) completion and publication of an annual greenhouse gas emissions inventory
- 4. To facilitate communication and study of best practices in the area of sustainability and the rapid and widespread assimilation of this knowledge.
- 5. To promote economic practices on campus and within the broader community, including purchasing and investment policies that are in alignment with sustainability and the goal of net neutrality in greenhouse gas emissions.
- 6. To provide input on EFMP development and implementation with respect to sustainable components.
- 7. To integrate the voices of Native and First Peoples with respect to sustainability and environmental justice.

2021-22

Membership (14)

	Position Represented	Name	Term
1.	Faculty Sustainability Coordinator (appointed by Academic Senate)(Co-Chair)	Tania Anders	ongoing
2.	Sustainability Director (appointed by President)(Co- Chair)	Eera Babtiwale	ongoing
3.	Management (appointed by Vice President of Instruction)	Lance Heard	2020-23
4.	Management (appointed by Management Steering)	Jill Dolan	2020-23
5.	Facilities Planning & Management or Designee (appointed by VP Administrative Services)	Megan Moscol	ongoing
6.	Faculty (appointed by the Academic Senate)	Janet Tuttmann	2022-25
7.		Ashley Haines	2021-24
8.		Steve Williams	2021-24
9.		Raul Madrid	2020-23
10.	Classified (appointed by CSEA 262)	Sabeena Soni	2021-24
11.	Classified (appointed by CSEA 651)	Vacant	2022-25
12.	Student (Student-at-Large; appointed by Associated Students)	Ryan Tan	2022-23
13.	Student (Environmental Senator; appointed by Associated Students)	Charlie Yang	2022-23
14.	Student (EAGLE representative appointed by Associated Students)	Gladys Gallegos	2022-23

Membership Meeting Times:

COMMITTEE TYPE	CO-CHAIRS	MEETING SCHEDULE	LOCATION	TIME
Governance	Tania Anders	2 nd Friday of the month	Zoom or	10:00-12:00
	and Eera		Bldg. 60, Biology	p.m.
	Babtiwale		Conf. Room	-

Person Responsible to Maintain Committee Website: Eera Babtiwale

College Website Link and Last Time Website Was Updated: www.mtsac.edu/sustainability 09/2021

Carbon Commitment text:

https://secondnature.org/signatory-handbook/the-commitments/